Posted by new website marketing on July 1, 2009 under Uncategorized | Comments
AFP – Britain’s biggest retailer Tesco is a potential bidder for nationalised bank Northern Rock, which the government is reportedly considering selling later this year, The Times newspaper has reported.
UBA: The United Banks of America Did you feel the tremor in the force? Grab your lightsaber something big has happened. Remember the bazooka metaphor with Paulson & Co? Well, bang bang my friend, that trigger was pulled. Imagine your government has just written you the first of many checks that will total $700 billion or......
35 Common Sense Investing Rules I have been investing in the stock market for nearly 10 years and acquired quite a bit of experience and knowledge (mainly through making mistakes). I've never codified on to a piece of paper until today. Before I begin, I want to give credit where it is due. This post......
Paying the mortgage biweekly We are on a quest to pay off our mortgage early, so one of the things we looked into was the idea of paying the mortgage biweekly. If we did that, we would be making half of a mortgage payment every two weeks. That would amount to 26 half-payments per......
A life that is well lived This comes from a friend of mine who helped another friend celebrate her 102nd birthday! I asked her to tell me something about her friend. I think we tend to hear more of decreptitude than elders who are still going strong. I like to collect stories of folks living life......
$100 LaSalle Bank Bonus This is a hot bonus from Lasalle Bank. Here are some of the terms from their site: Get $100 When You Open a Checking Account. Consider It Seed Money. Now when you open both a checking account and a Statement Savings Account and use your new LaSalle Money Card debit card,......
In Google AdWords Management, there are many metrics to consider. (”metrics” is just a fancy way of saying “numbers”). You need to know your CTR (click-through rate), your conversion rate, and the average sales volume per conversion to name a few.
But perhaps the most important metric – at least the one you need to know to absolutely dominate your competition – is the average lifetime value of a customer. Here’s why:
If you know the average lifetime value of a customer, then you can confidently bid higher than your competitors. To understand this concept, let’s use an example:
Let’s say that you are an attorney, and you are bidding on the keywords “divorce attorney”. And for the sake of discussion and for easy math, let’s say that the average cost per click is $25.
In the above scenario, if you get 20 clicks, then the total cost of those clicks is $500. If your sales conversion rate is 5% then you will likely convert 1 of those clicks to a sale. And if your average revenue per sale is $1,000, then for every 20 clicks or $500 spent on AdWords, you make $500 ($1,000 commission – $500 AdWords cost).
Well, given that scenario, your competitors may be willing to spend more than you. Perhaps they are willing to spend $30 or even $40 dollars per click. After all, if they can duplicate your conversion rate and your revenue per sale, then they would still be making a positive cash flow, right?
Here is where you can dominate them. They are only thinking about the next sale, right? Thus, they are looking at how much revenue that customer is worth today? In order to dominate them you need two things:
1. A forward-thinking strategy
2. Cash-flow
Let me explain. If you know your numbers AND you have sufficient cash flow, you can definitely beat your competitors and dominate them when it comes to Google AdWords campaign strategy. But in order to accomplish this feat, you need to know a key metric – that is the lifetime value of a customer.
First, let’s define the word “lifetime”. In this particular case, let’s call “lifetime” 3 years. (Yes, I know lifetime could mean much longer than that, but for many businesses, 3 years is a LONG time.) If you know that the average customer will spend $2,000 with you over a lifetime (in this case, 3 years) AND you have sufficient cash flow to play the “waiting game” then you can absolutely dominate your competitors because now you can afford to bid higher on certain keywords than they can.
For instance, your competitors may determine that the most they can spend per click is $40 because they are only thinking about the revenue from the next sale, but since YOU are thinking about the total value of the customer over a “lifetime” AND because you can afford to wait to earn that money, consequently, you are willing to bid higher than your competitors for certain keywords.
All things being equal, the good news is that because you know your numbers, in the long run your Google Adwords campaign will be much more profitable than your short-sighted competitors even though you are bidding higher than they are.
If this scenario seems complicated, then perhaps its time to hire a professional to manage your campaign for you, or perhaps it is time to invest some money and some time in learning your metrics and a better Adwords management strategy.
Narrow Your Focus to Broaden Your Sales Guest Post By Michel Fortin In the competitive marketplace of the new millennium, the demand for specialized products or services will increase. If your site sells everything or to everyone, chances are that your audience will not perceive any greater value in shopping from you than anyone else. The more......
Mid-Year Update: My 2009 New Year's Financial Goals I had actually forgotten all about this, but back on January 1st I posted my New Year's Resolutions for 2009. A lot has happened since I wrote that post, not the least of which was getting a new job which has left me relatively little time to work on my......
Advertising on Facebook If you are not already making use of Facebook as a method of marketing your business or niche, then you are absolutely missing out on a great opportunity to reach out to hundreds of millions of active users. Today, Facebook has become one of the most popular online social networking......
Nitro Quattro Review As one of the relative few who have had a chance to put the Nitro Quattro program in place for our line of products, I'm one of the only people who can really give an insider's view on the product. I've told the guys at Nitro how impressed I've been......
Six great ways to slam the door on your customers Businesses need to do everything in their power to weather this downturn. It should be a great time for customers to get great deals because of this: they need to keep the cash flowing in. Customers should expect deals, and they should be treated with respect, because customers can go......